It’s Almost World Book Night! (Well, Not Really.)

Hooray! It’s almost World Book Night! Well, not really. But still! I’m excited for it!

What is World Book Night? It’s AWESOME. But to provide a fuller explanation, this is basically what it is. World Book Night (WBN) is pretty much a day where people apply to receive 20 copies of this one book. Then, on the particular date (April 23) those people who got the books go hand them out to adults in their community! According to the website, there are a lot of programs to get kids to read, but not as many for adults. So they made one.

Even though it’s for adults, there are a lot of books on their booklist for this year that I know and lots of others of you probably will too. For instance, Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. Pretty much 95% of all Americans have heard of it.

But ANYWAYS. So then on April 23 they go out and give the books to the community. I know this thing has happened before, but I think this one is awfully cool in particular because it’s multi-country. (Is that a word? I don’t know.) Besides the U.S., it also takes place in the U.K., Germany, and Ireland. And the people who run this whole shabang want other countries involved as well.

But what really intrigues me is why they chose April 23. It seemed really close to Earth Day. But it was chosen because it’s the International Day Of The Book. Duh. And it’s Shakespeare’s birthday. And the day that Miguel De Cervantes (you know, the Don Quixote guy,), died. Well, now that makes sense.

You have to be 16 to participate, which made me sad because I am not yet 16, and therefore will be unable to do it. But don’t worry, when I’m 16, guess where I’ll be on April 23? Somewhere well populated handing out books.

Well, what do you think? Great idea? Terrible idea? You like? You not like? You do? You not do? Let me know below! 😀

One thought on “It’s Almost World Book Night! (Well, Not Really.)

  1. Pingback: The Reader Appreciation Award « A Mirror Made of Words

So whaddya think?